Governing Council of Niti Aayog

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

When you search online Many Photos are uploaded which show only CMs and LGs as member of Governing Council of Niti Aayog. But remember PM by default heads the council and Special invitees will be there too.

About the Governing Council of NITI Aayog

The Governing Council of NITI Aayog comprises

  • the Prime Minister of India,
  • Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories with Legislatures and
  • Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and
  • four Union Ministers as ex-officio members and three Union Ministers as Special Invitees.

It is the premier body tasked with evolving a shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active involvement of States in shaping the development narrative.

The NITI Aayog has been mandated with fostering cooperative federalism through structured support initiatives and mechanisms with the States on a continuous basis, recognizing that strong States make a strong nation. It seeks to design and assist the implementation of strategic, long-term policy frameworks and programme initiatives, and also monitor their progress and efficacy.

The Governing Council, which embodies these objectives of cooperative federalism, presents a platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues in order to accelerate the implementation of the national development agenda, in the spirit of Ek Bharat, Shrestha Bharat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: