Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The PM-GKAY is a government programme that offers free foodgrains — 5 kg per person per month — to National Food Security Act (NFSA) 2013 beneficiaries. This is in addition to their monthly NFSA entitlement.

The NFSA has two types of recipient homes: Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) households and Priority Households (PHs).

Every AAY household, regardless of the number of members, is entitled to 35 kg of foodgrains each month. PHs are eligible to foodgrains based on the number of family members. Under the NFSA, each member of a PH is entitled to 5 kg of foodgrains each month. As a result, the larger a PH family, the more foodgrains it receives.

NFSA beneficiaries are entitled to receive foodgrains at highly subsidised rates. Under the food law, rice is provided at Rs 3 per kg, wheat at Rs 2 per kg, and coarse grains at Re 1 per kg.

What distinguishes the PM-GKAY from the NFSA?

—The NFSA is a right-based system established by Parliament, whereas the PM-GKAY is a scheme launched by the executive as a supplement to the entitlements of NFSA recipients.

Practice Question:-

Consider the following statements and respond to the following questions:

  1. Only persons who are already receiving subsidised foodgrains are eligible for free foodgrains under the PM-GKAY.
  2. The PM-GKAY extends benefits to NFSA beneficiaries and covers extra beneficiaries above the NFSA’s allowed limit.

The correct statement is/are:

a) Only 1

b) Only 2

c) Both 1 and 2

d) Neither 1 nor 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: