UNCSW (United Nations Commission on the Status of Women)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Member States

It is aForty-five Member States of the United Nations which serve as members of the Commission at any one time.

The Commission consists of one representative from each of the 45 Member States elected by the Economic and Social Council on the basis of equitable geographical distribution:

  • It has 13 members from Africa
  • It has 11 from Asia
  • 9 from Latin America and Caribbean
  • eight from Western Europe and other States
  • four from Eastern Europe

As a result of which Members are elected for a period of four years.

Recently India Won Elections while Beating China and became Member Of Prestigious UN Commission On Status Of Woman.

India and Afghanistan got more votes than China in the elections to the United Nation’s Commission on Status of Women (UNCSW) which is a body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: